Skip to content

Our people

Meet the dedicated team that makes our work possible.

Our board

Meet the board

The people behind the mission and vision of the organisation.

Victoria Krakovna

Research Scientist, DeepMind

Meia Chita-Tegmark

Board Treasurer
Future of Life Institute

Max Tegmark

Future of Life Institute

Jaan Tallinn

Co-founder, Skype

Anthony Aguirre

Executive Director and Board Secretary
Future of Life Institute

Our staff

Meet our staff

Our staff represents a diverse range of expertise, having worked in academia, for government and in industry. Their background range from machine learning to medicine and everything in between.

Executive Director

Anthony Aguirre

Executive Director and Board Secretary
Future of Life Institute


Mark Brakel

Director of Policy
Future of Life Institute

Landon Klein

Director of U.S. Policy
Future of Life Institute

Anna Hehir

Program Manager for Autonomous Weapons Systems
Future of Life Institute

Richard Mallah

Principal AI Safety Strategist
Future of Life Institute

Risto Uuk

EU Research Lead
Future of Life Institute

Carlos Ignacio Gutierrez

Policy Researcher
Future of Life Institute

Hamza Chaudhry

US Policy Specialist
Future of Life Institute

Alexandra Tsalidis

Policy Researcher
Future of Life Institute

Tim Schreier

Policy Researcher & Technical Standards Advisor
Future of Life Institute

Isabella Hampton

Policy Researcher
Future of Life Institute

Imane Bello (Ima)

AI Safety Summit Representative
Future of Life Institute

Annemieke Brouwer

EU Policy Research Fellow
Future of Life Institute


Emilia Javorsky MD, MPH

Director, Futures Program
Future of Life Institute

William Jones

Associate, Futures Program
Future of Life Institute

Anna Yelizarova

Special Projects Lead
Future of Life Institute


Ben Cumming

Communications Director
Future of Life Institute

Taylor Jones

Website Manager
Future of Life Institute

Gus Docker

Podcast Host & Director
Future of Life Institute

Maggie Munro

Communications Strategist
Future of Life Institute

Operations & Grants

David E. Nicholson

Operations Associate
Future of Life Institute

Ben Eisenpress

Director of Operations
Future of Life Institute

Andrea Berman

Grants Manager
Future of Life Institute

AI Safety Community

A community dedicated to ensuring AI is developed safely.

The way to ensure a better, safer future with AI is not to impede the development of this new technology but to accelerate our wisdom in handling it by supporting AI safety research.

Since it may take decades to complete this research it is prudent to start now. AI safety research prepares us better for the future by pre-emptively making AI beneficial to society and reducing its risks.

This mission motivates research across many disciplines, from economics and law to technical areas like verification, validity, security, and control. We’d love you to join!

View the community

External Input

External advisors

Since our founding in 2014, we consult a range of scientific experts and communicators across our cause areas to ensure our approach is well-informed, strategic and adaptable. We list some notable ones below.

Alan Alda

Actor, Writer, Director & Science Communicator

Alan Guth

Professor of Physics, MIT

Christof Koch

Chief Scientific Officer, Allen Institute for Brain Science

Elon Musk

Founder, SpaceX and Tesla Motors

Erik Brynjolfsson

Director, MIT Center for Digital Business, MIT

Francesca Rossi

IBM Research and University of Padova

Frank Wilczek

Professor of Physics, MIT

George Church

Professor of Genetics, Harvard University

Martin Rees

Astronomer Royal, Co-founder of the Centre for the Study of Existential Risk

Morgan Freeman

Actor, Director, Narrator & Science Communicator

Nick Bostrom

Director, Future of Humanity Institute, Oxford University

Sandra Faber

Professor Emerita of Astronomy and Astrophysics, UC Santa Cruz

Saul Perlmutter

Professor of Physics, UC Berkeley

Stephen Hawking

Theoretical physicist, cosmologist, and author

Stuart Russell

Professor of Computer Science, UC Berkeley
These advisors have no formal role in FLI’s decision-making, and their inclusion in no way serves as endorsement of views they may hold or policies they may endorse.

Other supporters

A special thanks to our supporters

Past Volunteers

In the past, we have had the support of a team of dedicated volunteers.
View page

AI Existential Safety Community

We are building a community of AI researchers who want AI to be safe, ethical and beneficial.
View page

Sign up for the Future of Life Institute newsletter

Join 40,000+ others receiving periodic updates on our work and cause areas.
cloudmagnifiercrossarrow-up linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram